Having read Ether 1 to Moroni 10 in one sitting, it’s been a surprise to me to see just how much of a fixation Moroni had on faith and the power thereof. He just can’t stop talking about it. You’d think someone in his position would talk about the dire consequences of sin (as Mormon often seemed to me to do) and exhort his readers to avoid sin at all costs.

But then I suppose Moroni’s situation was different from his father’s. Mormon, being the keeper of the records, saw a world that was once good go to pot, and with his historical talents was able to pinpoint what went wrong and how it could have been avoided. He led the Nephite armies in the days when he believed there was still hope that they could in some way be saved. While I wouldn’t call Mormon a pessimist, I do believe a lot of his later writing showed how affected he was by the situation.

Moroni, on the other hand, was in a world that had already gone to pot. He knew the condition was terminal. Indeed it was, as far as I can tell, several years after the destruction of the Nephites before Moroni even finished Mormon’s account, let alone add anything else. All while at constant risk of death, and with only heaven for company.

For Moroni though, that was enough. He’d had no choice but to rely on the Lord or perish. If anyone has a right to talk about faith and it’s blessings, I can think of no mortal better qualified. He’s my scriptural hero, mostly because he embodies the qualities I sorely lack. He lost everything, but still trusted God and worked to see a time where everything would be exactly as it should.

One day I hope to be able to have such faith and not murmur and lose hope when things go horribly wrong. Today, however, is not that day.

