Happy New Year everyone. That’s right – both of you!

I know I promised this post ages ago, but there’s been this distraction called Christmas…

Anyway, my latest rambling spawns from this quote from the lectures on faith:

Let us here observe, that three things are necessary in order that any rational and intelligent being may exercise faith in God unto life and salvation.

First, the idea that he actually exists.

Secondly, a correct idea of his character, perfections, and attributes.

Thirdly, an actual knowledge that the course of life which he is pursuing is according to his will.

It’s this third part that troubles me, not in the sense that I think it’s not a true principle (I think it’s perfectly logical), but in the sense that I can’t honestly say I’ve ever experienced it in full. The closest I ever got was being on my mission and only in the sense that I knew I should be on a mission. Otherwise, I’ve always second-guessed my life. Especially when things I thought most sure turned out to be false. I’m often left wondering whether I missed something important somewhere, a task I was supposed to do but didn’t for some reason, that’s left me on an unordained track.

All the saints of whom we have account, in all the revelations of God which are extant, obtained the knowledge which they had of their acceptance in his sight through the sacrifice which they offered unto him; and through the knowledge thus obtained their faith became sufficiently strong to lay hold upon the promise of eternal life…But those who have not made this sacrifice to God do not know that the course which they pursue is well pleasing in his sight; for whatever may be their belief or their opinion, it is a matter of doubt and uncertainty in their mind; and where doubt and uncertainty are there faith is not, nor can it be.

It’s certainly a matter of doubt and uncertainty, but what is the sacrifice and how is it achieved?

