I’m in the market for a new light bulb for my bedroom. My current bulb is one of those energy saving doohickeys, which while nice has a couple of problems:

  1. I have a dimmer switch and I’m pretty sure it’s reducing the life of the bulb (I’ve already had to replace one – it seems a bit early for that) as traditional energy savers are either on or off and nothing in between.
  2. It takes a while to get to full illuminance.

So I’m interested in an upgrade. At work I read the electronics periodicals during lunch and there’s a lot of talk about advances in LED lighting. Problem is, I’m having trouble finding a suitable product. It seems you can buy LED solutions for just about every purpose except general household lighting. Anyone know where I could find such a bulb, how much it costs, and how much power it uses?

