Last week I got hold of a few albums, namely the new albums from Muse and Hundred Reasons as well as an oldie from Daft Punk (Homework).

I haven’t listened fully through Homework yet, but I have the other two and the first thing that struck is me how bad the recordings sound, and there’s really no excuse for it.

The Muse album is recorded too hot throughout and leaves clipping all over the place.  At times it’s quite annoying.  The Hundred Reasons album on the other hand is over-compressed, just like a Generic American Corporate Rock(TM) band would do.

Highly disappointing.  Somebody needs a good kicking!

After that I decided to have a listen to my old Ride CDs (the original releases rather than the reissues), and I’ve already noticed that the old Nowhere release sounds much better than the new one.  I can’t tell much of a difference with the others though.

