Recent events have caused me to reconsider a thing I’d hoped (very much in vain) to forget.The great irony of this post is that it hinges on a quote from the film Hitch. Why that should be such an irony is not a thing easily explained. If I were to transplant the necessary memories onto the screen you’d get it – but as the requisite technology is not available, you’re just gonna have to trust me. I should say by the way that I actually quite like the film and it caused me to give Will Smith just a smidgen of credit as an actor.

The quote in question is from the end of the film, those who’ve seen it will know the bit it’s from (I won’t spoil it for the rest of you), and hopefully I’ve got it accurate:

Because that’s what people do, they leap, and hope to God they can fly; because otherwise you just drop like a rock, wondering the whole way down: why the hell did i jump?

Today I realised that I never actually landed. I’m still mid-drop. What’s worse, I also realised that even if I knew then what I know now, I’d still have jumped, because OK isn’t good enough.

And everything I’ve done since suddenly means nothing.

