One of the upsides of temple visits is that there’s a tendency to see things differently afterwards.  Today’s lightbulb is based on Abraham 4:18:

And the Gods watched those things which they had ordered until they obeyed.

This has been a favourite verse of mine for a while, but something hit me about it today.  I’ve previously understood it as an example of patience, but it’s really an example of faith.

Everyone likes to be in control.  We like to think life’s safer that way.  The sin of pride is I think initiated by fear of losing control over any given situation.  When something’s important to us, we want to take the wheel, but when the Lord is the one we’re pushing aside, we lose what expertise we had on our team.  Indeed, sometimes the best thing to do is simply to wait and watch.

“Be still, and know that I am God”, are, to the disciple, some of the scariest words you’ll hear, but the lesson of faithfully letting go is a valuable one to learn, I’m told.  At least, that’s the lesson that’s trying to be crammed into my skull right now.  I don’t need to meddle in things that are already in motion.  I also don’t need to worry about what I am and what I’m not.  God is perfectly able to work with what he’s got.  I just need to be willing to show some faith, and let go.

