I don’t know what it is about us musicians, but sometimes we just like to make things so darn tricksy that it becomes parody.  One common example of that is the hidden track, where an album contains a song or two that’s not mentioned on the sleeve.  It’s a nice surprise in a way, but the problem is that in order to both separate it from the rest of the album proper and actually hide it it’s normally placed as part of the last track after a long silence placed after the last official song.  This means if you actually want to listen to the hidden track on it’s own you (some of them are absolutely cracking!) then you have to manually search through.  Also, if you’ve set your music library on shuffle and the last track of an album pops up, you’re left with huge gaps in your listening.  Not to mention the even more insidious practice of hidden tracks before track 1, which a significant number of computer CD players are incapable of reading.

Saves the Day, however, have found a new way to annoy me.  On their most recent album, Daybreak, track 1 is not one song, but a 5-movement piece (also called Daybreak – and the last movement of the 5 is also called Daybreak.  Really.)  5 songs on 1 track??  Really?!!! Was that really necessary?!  So now if I want to just listen to one part of it, I have to start seeking through trying to find the right point, which could be anywhere?  How do I put it on shuffle?  More to the point, at least with a traditional hidden track at the end, I can cut the silence and the give the hidden track a new track number.  Even with a hidden song at the beginning of an album, I can call it track zero.  What am I meant to do with this?!

I know you said you’re Through Being Cool, Chris, but this seriously isn’t.

